Second generation post-punk revivalists, Parquet Courts recently announced the release of their sixth studio album, Wide Awake!, out May 18 through Rough Trade Records. On the upcoming album, the band surprisingly collaborated with producer, Danger Mouse. Parquet Courts frontman, Andrew Savage, said “I liked that it didn’t make sense.” Since Danger Mouse is more of a pop producer, you would think, he would’ve changed Parquet Courts’ sound and have them present cleaner instead of raw music – like he did with the Black Keys, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and most recently, Portugal. The Man. However, on the latest single, you don’t see that change at all. You hear the same bands who have always been influential, such as Black Flag, Gorilla Biscuits, and Pavement. The only change may be a blend of punk and funk – a mix strongly developed by the Clash and influential on the latest single. There’s a quick and heavy guitar riff, assorted with frustration and anticipation from Savage in vocals – especially during the bridge. Like the Hives, you can see Parquet Courts still hanging on to their signature sound. Ty Segall changed, but Parquet Courts seems resistant, but consistently hanging strong. Watch the animated video for “Almost Had to Start a Fight/In and Out of Patience” and check out the Wide Awake! cover art and track listing below.


Rough Trade Records

Parquet Courts – Wide Awake! Track List 

1. “Total Football”
2. “Violence”
3. “Before the Water Gets Too High”
4. “Mardi Gras Beads”
5. “Almost Had to Start a Fight/In and Out of Patience”
6. “Freebird II”
7. “Normalization”
8. “Back to Earth”
9. “Wide Awake”
10. “NYC Observation”
11. “Extinction”
12. “Death Will Bring Change”
13. “Tenderness”